Posted by: deirdrea | May 13, 2017

Sorrow – by Mary Johnson

I want to share this story with everyone, because I think it’s beautiful. I hope you enjoy it!

SICK LIT MAGAZINE

I could have killed myself, of course. I could have flung the child from the top of the tower, and flung myself after him. Then all our troubles would have ended. They told me I could live so long as the child lived, but what did I care for the child’s life? What did I care for my own? I could have killed myself, but I did not.

Why not? I have often asked myself, over the years, and I’ve never found an answer. Was I so afraid to die? And, if I was, how did they know I was such a coward? And why would they trust that child to me, whom they called a murderess? I’ve never found an answer to that, either.

Or have I? Maybe a hint of an answer: deep in my silent thoughts, it came to me that the king would be pleased if…

View original post 5,304 more words

Leave a Reply

Categories

