Posted by: deirdrea | January 19, 2010

Winter Bobcat (plus sad local news). ALSO, It’s not too late to enter the ARC giveaway contest!

Winter Bobcat, originally uploaded by Ignorance is living in Bliss.

Hi, everybody!

I thought you might enjoy this picture of one of our beautiful native wildcats today.

Also, there was a sad story in the local news recently. Two teenage boys, one 13 and one 17, were trapping bobcats illegally on government land, using leghold traps. If you’d like to read the article, it’s here:
http://www.newstimes.com/policereports/article/Leghold-trap-snares-bobcat-teens-303029.php

Two things really bugged me about this. First, leghold traps are unnecessary and cruel. And secondly, the boys are quite young. I really don’t like the thought of young boys growing up to be cruel.

I’ve been reading a lot lately, and one of the things I picked up is Thomas More’s “Utopia.” I was reading it the same day I saw this story, and it really interested me that More said what St. Francis, Albert Einstein, and many others have also said, that people who mistreat animals are very liable to mistreat human beings, too.

Well, I’ll stop with the heaviness, for now. I hope you can enjoy the lovely photo!

Also, don’t forget! If you love Sophos, from the Queen’s Thief series, tell me why, and I will enter you to win an ARC of “A Conspiracy of Kings!” The complete rules are in the entry below, the one with the Renaissance art.

Enjoy, and stay well!

Responses

  1. wow beautiful pic, m feeling cold while looking at her. 🙂

  2. I know! They have such lovely warm fur, though — I guess she must be quite cozy!

    Glad you enjoyed the pic, Dinesh, & stay well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

