Posted by: deirdrea | March 31, 2009

“Perelandra” And WLS Learns, Thing 10

Perelandra, originally uploaded by deirdrej.

Hi, everybody!

This blog is going to get a little technical again, now and then — I have to start doing homework, as the WLS Web 2.0 class, part 2, has now started!

But I thought I’d post a picture to start! I took this in my parent’s garden this past weekend, and I called it “Perelandra” because it reminded me of a beautiful description of a little dragon coiled round a gorgeously-colored tree, in that book by C.S. Lewis.

I love it when things in real life remind me of books!

(Is this another sign that I am becoming an ueber-geek?)

Enjoy!

And now, on to the techie stuff!

I have to admit, my heart sank a little when I got wind of this latest assignment. Not because I have anything against podcasts. I love them! I love them so much that I do them myself!

The problem is that I already subscribe to more podcasts than I have time to listen to. I started subscribing to podcasts on itunes even before I took Linda Braun’s awesome class on podcasts and podcasting. And I added more (including The Mount Kisco Library podcast) when I took that class.

HOWEVER, I’ve only used itunes to manage my podcasts before, and the bloglines option is certainly an interesting one. So, here goes!

WLS LEARNS: THING 10: Podcasting.

I had a lot of fun searching directories and finding new podcasts. Here’s a summary.

1. In Bloglines, I subscribed to 2 new podcasts.
      A. Games in Libraries
      B. The Art of Storytelling with Children.

These are both awesome resources, which connect with many other educational tools and interesting people, both online and in the world beyond!

2. I also added a great new information source to my ever-growing list of favorite web pages. The Online Education Database has published a Web page called Skip the Tuition, which lists free courses in podcast format from some of the world’s best universitites! This makes a great addition to the many classes already available at itunes u!

IN SUM: I had a good time doing this assignment, AND I learned about some wonderful new resources! Which goes to show you – even if you think you already know something, you can always learn more!

~D.

Responses

  1. Deirdrea, I would like to give you this link, to my blog friend Gerry´s new post:
    http://torchlakeviews.wordpress.com/2009/03/30/from-antrim-county-to-county-cork-county-kerry-and-county-clare-with-love/
    Maybe this could be of interest for you.

  2. Thank you so much, Birgitte!

    You’re absolutely right — this is fascinating. Exactly the kind of thing I like to see. And I wouldn’t have known about it, if you hadn’t told me!

    Many thanks!

    ~D.


Leave a Reply

Categories

