Posted by: deirdrea | December 8, 2008

Twitter, tweets, and birds. (Belted Kingfisher – Ceryle alcyon)

Belted Kingfisher – Ceryle alcyon, originally uploaded by emace.

Hey, good afternoon, everybody!

Jus wanted to let all the WLSlearns people that I did indeed check out twitter. And even posted a couple of silly tweets. (I mean, really, who cares what I’m doing on a Sunday afternoon? Unless, of course, I’m on the computer and I’m supposed to be doing something else!)

I can see that it might be useful for publcizing library programs, IF interested people knew about it and used it.

In the meantime, I was thrilled to find that you can post local events on librarything! (But, of course, people would also need to know to look there).

I think both of these options might be good for extra publicity, but it might also take a lot of work to get our patrons to actually check them!

I have found that people tend to get used to certain –limited!– ways of gathering information. And sometimes change has to happen slowly, because they will persist in remembering the old way.

For myself, though, I’d like a fast and effective way of disseminating information. And maybe twitter could be it …I have to think about it more, though. I’m not sold on it for interpersonal communication, in any case.

And now for something completey different! My sister and I went to Bea’s Cakes yesterday to get some doughnuts (yum!), and there was a belted kingfisher perched on a branch by the stream! Of course, neither of us had a camera handy. And when we went back with my sister’s cell, he had flown away. But he was beautiful, and today I have found a photo of exactly how he looked. Thanks to emace for the gorgeous shot — enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

