Posted by: deirdrea | November 15, 2008

Last of the Long Walk

  

Last of the Long Walk, originally uploaded by Mark Grealish.

Well, here I am exploring flickr. I love the geotagging! I went straight to Galway, Ireland, and found my great grandparent’s house, where my mother was born. (It’s the tall, skinny one). This is the view from the Claddagh across the end of the Corrib / the beginning of the bay.

Isn’t it pretty?

The swans are quite good sized, because people are always feeding them. And there’s a lovely heron, too, that walks up and down the Long Walk looking for handouts. Everyone calls him Birdie O’Heron (sounds like Bertie Ahearn). I’m going to try to find a picture of him next — but I don’t think I’m liable to succeed!

Enjoy the picture, everyone! I’m off to do other things now. But I’ll let you know if I find Birdie!

Responses

  1. Hi! I’m a Livejournal friend of your sister’s, and just thought I’d say how much I like the photos, this one especially. It’s a long time since I was in Galway (I don’t think the houses were quite so nicely painted then) but I remember the well-fed swans very clearly! I also love the photo of the Native American costume – the dance must be quite a sight!

  2. Thank you so much, Shelagh!

    It’s so nice of you to visit my blog, & I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Funnily enough, I remember being impressed with the colors of Irish houses ever since I was a young child. I remember particularly one house on Inishmore (we have some cousins there), where the people had worked bits of shell and sea-glass into the plaster, so that the whole house seemed to flash and sparkle in the sun. Beautiful!
    But, you’re right that things have gotten even brighter with the advent of the “Celtic Tiger!”

    You’re right about the dancers, too! They are wonderful to see, and I wish I could have filmed them — but they would not have approved of that!

    If you ever get a chance to see them, you really should!

    Thanks again for visiting & writing, and goodnight!

    ~Deirdre


Leave a Reply

Categories

